Best Student Paper Awards, in Memory of Dr. Elias Kyriakides

To honor Elias and as a tribute to his work throughout the years, especially as chair of the last IEEE ENERGYCON 2018, IEEE Region 8 gave his name to the prestigious award recognizing the best student paper in the ENERGYCON 2020.

Student participation in ENERGYCON is an important ingredient toward the event’s success, therefore the Elias Kyriakides Student Paper Awards will be presented to the author of the best student papers.

The award committee will review the submitted student papers from an early stage.

The conditions to participate in the contest are that the paper is authored or co-authored by a graduate or undergraduate student, who has had a major contribution in the preparation, and who will present the paper at the conference either orally or at a poster session.

The Best Student Paper Aawards will be presented in the IEEE ENERGYCON 2020 gala dinner.


  • Winner: Certificate + $300 travel grant to participate to IEEE conference
  • 1st Runner up: Certificate
  • 2nd Runner up: Certificate


Who is Elias? IEEE Region 8 Committee lost on Monday October 28th, 2019, the Chair of the IEEE Cyprus Section and the Chair of IEEE EnergyCon 2018, Elias Kyriakides, who passed away peacefully, after a long and courageous battle with cancer with his wife Stella by his side. Elias was an exceptional researcher, a great mentor, an example of a very active IEEE member, and above all a very humble and kind human being.

Elias was actively involved in IEEE, serving from January 2018 until its final days as Chair of the IEEE Cyprus Section. During May 2012-December 2017 he was chair of the IEEE Cyprus Section Power and Energy Society (PE-S) Chapter, where he received the IEEE PES High Performing Chapter Awards in 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2016, as well as the 2015 Region 8 Chapter of the Year Award. Elias had a significant contribution in Editorial Boards of various well established and known IEEE Journals. More specifically, he served as an Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy, an Associate Editor of the IEEE PES Letters and IEEE Systems Journal and as Editorial Board member of the IEEE Transactions on Power Delivery. In addition to all these, he was also member of various IEEE Societies (e.g., IEEE Power and Energy Society, IEEE Industry Applications Society, IEEE Computational Intelligence Society (CIS), and so on). Elias served the scientific community and in particular the Cyprus Section with tremendous generosity and dedication.


Award Committee:

  • Tomislav Capuder (University of Zagreb, Croatia) – Chair
  • Dirk Van Hertem (KU LEUVEN, Belgium)
  • Ghada Boukettaya (University of Sfax, Tunisia)
  • Markos Asprou (University of Cyprus, Cyprus)